学习中心
客户成功案例

洲际酒店集团:

全球领先的酒店运营商还有另一个先发优势:敏捷翻译

Yext

洲际酒店集团 (IHG) 作为世界领先的酒店公司之一,对成为先行者并不陌生。其忠诚度计划 IHG® Rewards Club 是第一个酒店忠诚度计划,目前在全球拥有超过 9200 万会员。 1984年,它是第一家进入中国的国际酒店集团,并于2012年推出了首个专为中国消费者设计的高档国际酒店品牌——华邑™酒店及度假村。现在,洲际酒店集团还有另一个先发优势:使用 Smartling 进行敏捷翻译。

挑战:跟不上步伐

品牌早就认识到并采用敏捷软件开发对于全球竞争很重要。同样,当地语言内容的可用性被认为对于发展强大的直接渠道和与客人建立终生关系至关重要。然而,传统的翻译方法与敏捷软件开发不兼容,导致品牌在大多数语言中都有一个支离破碎的“客户旅程”。

与许多酒店品牌一样,洲际酒店集团拥有复杂的宾客技术环境,包括网络和移动预订平台,以及一个先进的内容管理系统,该系统发布专门的网站,为每家酒店提供引人入胜的内容。洲际酒店集团在近 100 个国家/地区拥有 5,000 多家酒店,并且组织授权以十几种语言发布内容,因此 IHG 面临着错过发布新语言和以现有语言发布新内容的最后期限的风险,可能会延迟数周或数月。

IHG 的开发人员也花费越来越多的时间来维护本地语言内容,而不是进一步推进宾客旅程。

“我们相信,对技术系统的投资有助于我们建立品牌偏好并加强我们的忠诚度计划,”洲际酒店集团全球直接渠道副总裁 Chad Westfall 说。 “当我们批判性地评估 Guest Journey 时,我们意识到我们缺乏管理翻译的技术系统正在阻碍我们在全球市场的增长。”

解决方案:智能

敏捷翻译是 Smartling 为应对创建和更新本地语言内容的挑战而形成的一套原则和技术。通过使用 Smartling 的翻译管理系统进行敏捷翻译,品牌能够消除软件开发和翻译之间的依赖关系,从而为任意数量的渠道持续改进本地语言内容。 Smartling 满足了 IHG 改善翻译管理体验的所有关键要求:

  • 一体化。 Smartling 可以与任何内容源集成,并可以使用其 API、流行内容管理系统的连接器、无线翻译更新服务或 HTTP 代理服务向任何渠道提供翻译。
  • 自动化。每个团队和市场都可以定义自己的一套翻译工作流程,确保内容始终遵循所需的质量改进流程,而不会对 IHG 的内部资源造成过度的管理负担。
  • 合作。 IHG 的数以千计的全球内容创作者、翻译人员和市场专家可以在一个单一的记录系统中协作创建本地语言内容,该系统提供完整的版本控制并且只需要最少的培训。
  • 能见度。管理人员和项目经理可以看到哪些团队要求翻译,需要多长时间才能完成,需要多久进行一次修正,以及需要多少成本。

IHG 最初为少数语言和首选品牌部署了 Smartling,现在正在整个企业中推广该平台。

通过利用 Smartling 的翻译管理系统,IHG 在进入新市场和与客人建立终身关系方面取得了重要的竞争优势。例如,洲际酒店集团 2015 年在大中华区的表现优于同业,新开的客房和酒店数量明显超过其最接近的国际竞争对手。

今天,IHG 继续添加新的语言、内容和渠道——这三者在 Smartling 出现之前有可能导致延误和意外成本。 “Smartling 促进了全球范围内的协作,使我们能够快速创建尽可能本地化的内容,”Westfall 说。 “此外,开发人员在翻译中的参与已经减少到几乎为零,使我们的全球技术团队能够继续增强我们直接渠道的功能和性能,使这些成为首选的预订方式。”

IHG + Smartling 的故事

洲际酒店集团 + Smartling 在 Vimeo 上的 Smartling故事

Learning Center
Customer Success

InterContinental Hotels Group:

Leading Global Hotel Operator Has Another First-Mover Advantage: Agile Translation

InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), one of the world’s leading hotel companies, is no stranger to being a first mover. Its loyalty program, IHG® Rewards Club, was the first hotel loyalty program and now boasts over 92 million members worldwide. It was the first international hotel group to enter China, in 1984, and in 2012 it launched HUALUXE™ Hotels and Resorts, the first upscale international hotel brand designed specifically for the Chinese consumer. Now, IHG has yet another first-mover advantage: agile translation using Smartling.

The Challenge: A Failure to Keep Pace

Brands have long recognized and adopted agile software development as important for competing globally. Similarly, the availability of local language content is recognized as critical to developing strong direct channels and building lifetime relationships with guests. However, traditional approaches to translation are not compatible with agile software development, leaving brands with a fragmented “Guest Journey” in most languages.

Like many hospitality brands, IHG has a complex landscape of guest technologies, including web and mobile booking platforms, and an advanced content management system that publishes dedicated websites with engaging content for each hotel. With more than 5,000 hotels in nearly 100 countries, and an organizational mandate to publish content in more than a dozen languages, IHG was at risk of missing deadlines for launching new languages and publishing new content in existing languages by weeks or months.

IHG’s developers were also spending an increasing amount of time maintaining local language content instead of further advancing the Guest Journey.

“We believe that investing in technology systems assists us in building brand preference and strengthens our loyalty program,” said Chad Westfall, Vice President, Global Direct Channels for IHG. “When we critically evaluated the Guest Journey, we realized that our lack of a technology system for managing translation was hindering our growth in global markets.”

The Solution: Smartling

Agile translation is a set of principles and technologies that Smartling has formed to respond to the challenges of creating and updating local language content. By embracing agile translation using Smartling’s Translation Management System, brands are able to eliminate the dependency between software development and translation, enabling continuous improvement of local language content for any number of channels. Smartling met all of IHG’s key requirements for improving its translation management experience:

  • Integration. Smartling could be integrated with any content source and could deliver translations to any channel using its API, connectors to popular content management systems, over-the-air translation update service, or HTTP proxy service.
  • Automation. Each team and market could define its own set of translation workflows, ensuring that content would always follow the desired quality improvement process without creating an undue management burden on IHG’s internal resources.
  • Collaboration. IHG’s thousands of global content creators, translators, and in-market experts could collaborate on the creation of local language content within a single system of record that provided full version control and required minimal training.
  • Visibility. Executives and program managers could see which teams were requesting translation, how long it was taking to complete, how frequently it needed to be corrected, and how much it was costing.

IHG first deployed Smartling for a small number of languages and preferred brands, and is now rolling out the platform across the enterprise.

By leveraging Smartling’s Translation Management System, IHG has achieved an important competitive advantage for entering new markets and for building lifetime relationships with guests. For example, IHG outperformed the industry in Greater China in 2015, opening significantly more rooms and hotels than its nearest international competitor.

Today, IHG continues to add new languages, content, and channels – a trifecta that, before Smartling, had the potential to result in delays and unexpected costs. “Smartling facilitates collaboration on a global scale, enabling us to quickly create the most local content possible,” said Westfall. “Furthermore, developer involvement in translation has been reduced to almost zero, allowing our global technology team to continue to enhance the functionality and performance of our direct channels to make these the preferred way to book.”

The IHG + Smartling Story

The InterContinental Hotels Group + Smartling Story from Smartling on Vimeo.

View our help center

Book a demo

Read our blog