学习中心
客户成功案例

蝴蝶网:

10 天翻译 75,000 字

Yext

Butterfly Network 如何利用 Smartling 将其平台快速本地化为 10 多种语言。

Butterfly Network 是首家重新定义超声技术的护理点超声 (POCUS) 公司。

因为它不使用电离辐射,所以超声技术在过去 10-15 年中越来越受欢迎。但由于该技术以前价格昂贵,因此限制了可以使用它的人数。

Butterfly Network 的创始人 Jonathan Rothberg 希望运用他在半导体技术方面的专业知识,利用超声波技术开发一种安全且易于使用的成像设备。

结果:Butterfly Network 从其茧中脱颖而出,推出了第一款也是唯一一款基于可插入移动设备的半导体芯片的手持式超声系统——全部成本为 2,000 美元。

Butterfly 能够在实现医学成像民主化的使命的同时,为有需要的人提供革命性的体验。

挑战:在不到六周的时间内将 UI 本地化

当 Butterfly Network 的高级产品经理 Brandon Fiegoli 负责建立公司的国际版图时,他最初的本地化策略专注于满足所有监管要求,然后慢慢将本地化内容扩展到网站、应用程序和营销内容,以确保客户有他们母语的经验。

当蝴蝶网络第一次决定进军全球市场时,他们使用了一家备受推荐的知名翻译公司来翻译文档和指南。 Butterfly Network 将翻译后的文档发送到将要使用它们的国家和地区,以验证它们是否与用户共享了高质量的内容。母语人士对翻译不满意,并说这些文件没有意义。

因为蝴蝶网络的产品具有拯救生命的潜力,所以它必须满足严格的要求。他们的客户必须能够访问以他们的母语编写的文档、信息和产品界面。

Butterfly Network 知道他们必须找到另一个合作伙伴来帮助他们翻译所有材料。距离发布日期只有 6 周的时间,Butterfly Network 向 Smartling 寻求帮助。

那是八月下旬的一个星期五下午,我们决定进行转换。我们的发布截止日期是 10 月 1 日。 Smartling 已准备好与我们并肩作战,以实现我们的发射目标。那个周末,我们来回发送电子邮件以签署合同,到周一早上,我们都在共同努力以赶上最后期限。 ——布兰登·费戈里

距离承诺的发布日期只有六周时间。 Butterfly Network 需要一个工具或平台来帮助他们实现这一雄心勃勃的目标。

此外,该公司在考虑正确的解决方案时还需要满足其他重要标准,包括:

高质量的翻译

因为 Butterfly 的客户是医疗专业人士,所以从公司发出的所有内容都需要以最高质量进行翻译。清晰准确地传达所有医疗信息所需的所有信息。

复杂的集成

Butterfly Network 为手持超声设备频繁更新软件的能力是一个主要的竞争优势。为了保持这一优势,他们需要一个可以正确集成到其复杂的工程和产品发布工作流程中的平台,以便他们可以继续每周发布软件,这比医疗设备领域的大多数公司都要快。

客户支持

Butterfly 与其他翻译提供商的合作产生了负面结果。翻译质量差、沟通不畅以及翻译过程缺乏可见性和透明度都导致了负面体验。以前的语言服务提供商从未要求过能让蝴蝶网络成功的工具。

对于 Butterfly Network,拥有合适的支持团队对于能够尽可能快速有效地本地化其内容至关重要。

解决方案:智能

Brandon 对他们的技术集成和出色的客户服务印象深刻,相信 Smartling 可以帮助他们在很短的时间内交付高质量的应用程序 UI 翻译。

利用 Smartling 的翻译管理工具,Brandon 和 Butterfly Network 团队看到了以下好处:

加速上市

在使用 Smartling 平台的前 10 天,翻译了 70,000 字。这使蝴蝶网络能够在六个月内成功地将其产品扩展到 13 个市场。由于 Smartling 能够满足所有这些紧迫的期限,Butterfly Network 能够承诺按照承诺将他们的产品推广到这些国际市场。

除了最初的发布,Smartling 在过去 12 个月中为蝴蝶网络翻译了超过 100 万字。

开启新的收入来源

在翻译他们的 UI 内容之前,Butterfly Network 只能进入英语市场。一旦他们部署了本地化工作,他们的收入就实现了两位数的增长,这使他们能够通过对 Smartling 的投资加快实现价值的时间。

出色的客户支持

Smartling 的客户参与团队能够快速加入 Butterfly Network,以构建全面的语言资产,作为翻译预检流程的一部分。

Smartling 不仅要求提供样式指南和词汇表等资产,而且还提供了一个在线门户网站,让 Butterfly Network 可以轻松拥有这些资产并经常更新它们。

词汇表是一份活生生的文件。我们会定期更新,以确保我们的翻译尽可能准确。 ——布兰登·费戈里

通过与 Smartling 客户成功和解决方案架构团队合作,Butterfly Network 能够与 Smartling 的 API 连接无缝集成,从而高效地自动发送和接收翻译的文字。

增加了视觉上下文的清晰度

为蝴蝶网络的翻译轻松提供视觉上下文的能力一直是蝴蝶网络改变游戏规则的功能。当 Smartling 的翻译人员在 CAT 工具中进行翻译时,他们可以访问 Butterfly Network 的词汇表并确保他们处于上下文中。

对于视频字幕翻译,Smartling 还具有提供视觉上下文的独特能力。 Brandon 指出,能够准确地看到字符串的放置位置和正确缠绕的位置,可以节省他和他的团队手动操作文本的时间。

Smartling Dashboard 创建简单的工作流程

Brandon 的主要仪表板之一是他的 Smartling 仪表板。 Brandon 可以通过仪表板快速访问项目状态,他可以在授权翻译内容之前查看每个源字符串,并轻松安排截止日期(有时会安排在第二天,具体取决于项目的数量)。

透明

Brandon 喜欢 Smartling 的 TMS 的地方在于它在整个本地化过程中为他提供的透明度。能够看到前期成本对于他将本地化预算考虑在内是必不可少的。通过了解每个项目的不同时间表和工作流程,他的团队可以优先考虑并满足全球发布的关键期限。

对于我们翻译的百万字,Smartling 从未错过截止日期。 ——布兰登·费戈里

下载 Smartling 概览

Learning Center
Customer Success

Butterfly Network:

Translating 75,000 words in 10 days

Butterfly-Casestudy
Adrian Cohn

Adrian Cohn

Head of Marketing at Smartling

How Butterfly Network leveraged Smartling to rapidly localize their platform in more than 10 languages.

Butterfly Network is a first of its kind point of care ultrasound (POCUS) company that has redefined ultrasound technology.

Because it doesn’t utilize ionizing radiation, ultrasound technology has increased in popularity over the last 10-15 years. But because the technology was previously expensive, it limited the number of people who could access it.

Butterfly Network’s founder Jonathan Rothberg wanted to apply his expertise in semiconductor technology to develop a safe, yet accessible imaging device, using ultrasound technology.

The result: Butterfly Network emerged from its cocoon with the first and only handheld ultrasound system built on a semiconductor chip that plugs into a mobile device - all for the cost of $2,000.

Butterfly has been able to deliver a revolutionary experience to people in need while realizing its mission of democratizing medical imaging.

The Challenge: Localize the UI in less than six weeks

When Brandon Fiegoli, Senior Product Manager at Butterfly Network, was tasked to build out the company’s international footprint, his initial localization strategy was focused on meeting all regulatory requirements, and then slowly expanding localized content to websites, apps, and marketing content to ensure customers had an experience native to their language.

When Butterfly Network first decided to expand into the worldwide market, they used a highly recommended and well-known translation company to translate documents and guides. Butterfly Network sent the translated documents to the countries and regions where they would be used in order to validate that they were sharing quality content with their users. The native speakers were not pleased with the translations and said the documents didn’t make sense.

Because Butterfly Network’s product has the potential to save lives it must meet rigorous requirements. It is essential that their customers have access to documentation, information, and a product interface that is in their native language.

Butterfly Network knew they had to find another partner to help them translate all their material. With only 6 weeks until launch date, Butterfly Network turned to Smartling for help.

It was a Friday afternoon in late August when we decided to make the switch. We had a launch deadline of October 1st. Smartling was ready to run along beside us in order to meet our launch goals. That weekend we sent emails back and forth to get the contracts signed, and by Monday morning we were all working together to meet our deadline. - Brandon Fiegoli

There was only six weeks before the committed launch date. Butterfly Network needed a tool or platform that would help them achieve this ambitious goal.

Additionally, the company had other important criteria that needed to be met when considering the right solution, including:

High-Quality Translations

Because Butterfly’s customers are medical professionals, all content that goes out from the company needs to be translated at the highest quality. All info needed to convey all medical information clearly and accurately.

Sophisticated Integrations

Butterfly Network’s ability to frequently update the software for the handheld ultrasound device is a major competitive advantage. To maintain this edge, they needed a platform that could be properly integrated into their complex engineering and product release workflows so they could continue to release software weekly, which is quicker than most companies in the medical device space.

Customer Support

Butterfly’s experience with other translation providers yielded negative results. Poor quality translations, poor communication, and lack of visibility and transparency into the translation process all contributed to the negative experience. The previous language service provider never asked for the tools that would enable Butterfly Network to be successful.

For Butterfly Network, having the right support team was essential for being able to localize their content as quickly and as effectively as possible.

The Solution: Smartling

Impressed with their technical integrations and their outstanding customer service, Brandon was confident that Smartling could help them deliver high-quality translations of their app UI in a very short timeframe.

Utilizing Smartling’s Translation Management tool, Brandon and the Butterfly Network team saw the following benefits:

Acceleration to market

In the first 10 days of using Smartling’s platform, 70,000 words were translated. This enabled Butterfly Network to successfully expand its product into 13 markets in six months. Because Smartling was able to meet every one of these tight deadlines, Butterfly Network was able to commit to rolling out their product to these international markets as promised.

Beyond the initial launch, Smartling has translated over one million words in the last 12 months for Butterfly Network.

Unlocking a new source of revenue

Prior to translating their UI content, Butterfly Network’s was only able to reach the English speaking market. Once they deployed their localization efforts, their revenue experienced double-digit growth, enabling them to realize an accelerated time to value with the investment in Smartling.

Superior customer support

Smartling’s Customer Engagement team was able to quickly onboard Butterfly Network on building out comprehensive linguistic assets as part of the translation preflight process.

Smartling not only asked for assets, such as style guides and glossaries but also provided an online portal that made it easy for Butterfly Network to own those assets and update them frequently.

The glossary is a living, breathing document. We update it regularly to ensure our translations are as accurate as possible. - Brandon Fiegoli

Partnering with the Smartling customer success and solution architecture teams, Butterfly Network was able to seamlessly integrate with Smartling’s API connections to automatically send and receive translated words efficiently.

Added clarity with Visual Context

The ability to easily provide visual context for Butterfly Network’s translations has been a game-changing feature for Butterfly Network. When Smartling’s translators are working on their translations in the CAT tool, they can access Butterfly Network’s glossary and ensure that they are staying within context.

For video subtitle translation, Smartling has the unique capability of providing visual context as well. Brandon notes that having the ability to see exactly where the strings are being placed and wrapped properly saves him and his team time from having to manually maneuver the text.

Smartling Dashboard creates easy workflow

One of Brandon’s main dashboards is his Smartling Dashboard. From the Dashboard, Brandon has quick access to project status, he can view each source string prior to authorizing the content for translation, and easily schedule deadlines (sometimes as soon as the next day, depending on the volume of the project).

Transparency

What Brandon loves about Smartling’s TMS is the transparency it offers him in the entire localization process. Being able to see the upfront costs is essential for him to factor in his localization budget. And having visibility into the different timelines and workflows for each project allowed his team to prioritize and meet the critical deadlines for the global launch.

For the million words we’ve translated, Smartling has never missed a deadline. - Brandon Fiegoli

Visit our Learning Center

Book a demo

Visit our Help Center